IRCCyN is under attachment of both the Ministry of Higher Education and Research and CNRS.

The Direction of IRCCyN is composed by the Director and the Vice Director.

The Director is (since 2008): Michel Malabre, Directeur de Recherche au CNRS.

The Deputy Director is (since 2010): Franck Plestan, Professeur Ecole Centrale de Nantes.

IRCCyN is governed through several councils: Comité de Direction (CODIR), Conseil de Laboratoire and Comité d’Orientation et de Surveillance (COS).

Comité de Direction (CODIR)

The Direction Committee is composed of:

  • The Director
  • The Deputy Director
  • and 3 senior scientists.
In January 2014, these 3 other members are:
    • Benoît Furet (Professeur Université de Nantes, IUT de Nantes)
    • Patrick Le Callet (Professeur Université de Nantes, PolytechNantes)
    • Anatol Pashkevich (Professeur, Ecoles des Mines de Nantes)

Conseil de laboratoire

The Unit Council is formed in accordance with CNRS rules. The members are:
Il est composé de la façon suivante :

  • Director and Deputy Director
  • 9 elected members (5 permanent researchers, 2 non permanent researchers, and 2 technical or administrative members)
  • 5 nominated members

Comité d’Orientation et de Surveillance (COS)

This Council is some kind of Administration Council which gathers:

  • the President of the University and the Directors of the Engineering Schools (ECN and EMN) to which IRCCyN is attached,
  • the Délégué Régional du CNRS de la circonscription Bretagne Pays de Loire.

The COS meets at least once a year. Its role is to analyse with IRCCyN Direction the annual results including scientific research, training, industrial and socio-economical partnerships. Local, national and international involvements are considered. On these bases, the COS makes recommendations for the future developments and statues about the required means.